State Licensing for Senior Communities and Care Services in South Dakota

Search for South Dakota Housing and Care

South Dakota Department of Health
Licensure and Certification
615 E 4th St
Pierre, SD 57501-1700
(605) 773-3356

State Commission on Aging

Types of Housing/Care Search Definitions
Adult Foster Care Adult Foster Care Adult Foster Care Homes (Family Residence) are licensed by the state where elderly, blind, physically disabled, developmentally disabled, or socially-emotionally disabled adults can obtain personal care, health supervision services, and household services in family atmosphere.
Affordable Senior Housing Affordable Senior Housing HUD 202 Program that offers rental assistance for seniors who meet the requirements of the federal program.
Assisted Living Centers Assisted Living Assisted Living Centers are licensed by the state to provide personal care and services beyond basic food, shelter, and laundry to seniors. Assisted Living Centers may admit and retain only those who do not require mote than intermittent nursing care by a licensed nurse. Licensure may include special approvals to include: 1) medication administrations, 2) care of the cognitively impaired, 3) care of the physically impaired, 4) oxygen administration, and 5) therapeutic diets (a posted license indicates which approvals are granted). Assisted Living Centers may provide home health agency services for short term skilled services for a specific medical reason.
Home Health Care Home Care Homes Health care is certified by Medicare to provide nursing services in the home to elderly or disabled persons who require intermittent nursing care. Home Health Agencies may also provide therapies and other treatments.
Hospice Hospice Hospice services are a coordinated interdisciplinary program of home and inpatient health care that provides or coordinates palliative and supportive care to meet the needs of a terminally ill patient and the patient’s family. The needs arise out of physical, psychological, spiritual, social, and economic stresses experienced during the final stages of illness and dying and that includes formal bereavement programs as an essential component.
Nursing Facilities (Nursing Homes) Nursing Nursing Facilities (Nursing Homes) are licensed by the state, may be certified by Medicare and /or Medicaid, and may admit and retain those elderly or disabled who require nursing care by licensed nurses. Nursing Facilities also have a medical director and are staffed with licensed nurses.
Residential Living Centers Care Homes Residential Living Centers are not licensed but are required to register with the state to provide services for compensation, for two of more elderly or disabled persons not related to the owner. Residential Living Centers may admit and retain persons who do not require more than meals, room, and daily living services.

Click here to start a new senior housing, senior products or senior care search

Return to the main State Listings page